Ze Deathscreen

Finally I can move on from writing about the HUD and GUI and work on something else. This week has been about working on the deathscreen or the picture you get when you lost the game.

 

I googled around on pictures on cities and looked for something that looked similar to what we were doing and house house styles. After a while I had collected enough pictures and inspiration to start working on something. I started out by drawing lines in photoshop, using the shift clicking function in photoshop, I drew every house one by one and just kept adding details that I thought would be nice to have, when I was satisfied I moved on to the road.

 

When I worked on the road I quickly noticed that it would have been easier to start with the road and then make the houses so that every house dit perfectly on the road. When I did it like this I actually had to move and remake the houses a little bit, but it wasn’t anything huge. There we go, sketch is done.

 

After finishing the sketch came (you gussed it right) the paintjob. I looked at our background that we had and used the colors we had used in that pictures and painted the different houses with them, at this stage I pretty much just drew like crazy all over and I had to do some cleaning afterwards.

 

Now, the picture looked extremely dull as it was, all the buildings where whole and everything looked nice and calm. So I had to mess everything up, I started erasing parts of buildings, corners, pillars, wall parts, windows and drew them in different ways. I added holes into the walls, broke most windows, cracked the pillars and just made the building look ruined. Which actually turned out quite nice.

 

The picture sitll looked dull due to the fact that it had no shadows at all. So I made a new layer, lowered the opacity and used a black with a little, little tint of purple in it to match the green light. Here I spent an evening drawing back and forth on the shadows and fixing.

 

When the sketch, the paint, the messing up and shadowing was done I had to add the characters and something to indicate that you lost, so I took the characters, put them in the screen and killed them, put blood on the ground, used their death animiations etc. One thing I still have to add to the scene or remake it the text, it is currently hard to see and melts in with the background.deathscene

Lämna en kommentar